Two Years Ago

Some of you may think I’m publishing this just to feed my own vanity. The truth is: I want to point out to you that the simplest of kind gestures can change, even save, lives.

My Facebook memories today gave me a short letter from a lady who had seen my show. She came in disliking magic in general. I helped to change her mind, but in the interim I did so much more than I was realizing at the time. Here’s her letter:

“I was going through some things today, and something wonderful happened. This has been a difficult year, I had an injury at the beginning that deeply effected my memory. Today I found the Bicycle Steam Punk deck of cards you gave me a few years back when you changed my mind about magic, and all the memories of that entire stay at the Ritz, meeting the Artists and having the great time with my Husband, came back to me. I truly got to live it all over again, it brought tears to my eyes, and I remembered just how truly magnificent you are. All because you wanted me to remember that day whenever I looked at those cards: it worked.”
January 23rd, 2015

My gift is humble. I do card tricks and I tell stories.

My gift is mighty. It restored precious memories that were thought lost.

Your gift, though perhaps humble, can absolutely change the world. For one, for thousands … who knows?

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

