Pregame (in brief)

I am often asked how I got started. Here it is, in brief.

It was the summer of 1992, and I was working full time, writing scripts and performing for a themed resort in South Carolina. I shared a tiny office with Ted Loring. Ted is an incredible friend to me, still.

20160531_010444.jpg

One of the characters we created was a street magician … someone to play to the resort guests and entice them to come see the formal shows. I visited a local magic shop and learned a few very rudimentary routines.

The job vanished quite suddenly and I took that character to the actual streets of Charlotte … and, 24 years later, here I am.

Cleaning out some drawers, I found my old employee pass. This kid had no clue to the future: two beautiful daughters to feed, both parents and Grandma  Hilda still living, and a road just beginning.

If I could tell him anything right now, I wouldn’t. The road unfolds just as it should and I wouldn’t change even the painful parts. It crafted me, and it is still saving hearts.

Your road is taking you somewhere, if you keep your feet faithfully to it. Strengthen your ability, craft it to your passion and keep the faith.

You’re really going somewhere, and the view along the way is breathtaking.

4 Comments

Filed under Musings, Public Diary

4 responses to “Pregame (in brief)

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth
    enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  2. Raul

    What’s up! Great statement! I adore the method that you reviewed Pregame (in brief)
    | The Truth Is …. This is a top notch crafted manual!
    I’m keen on that will incredibly.
    I’m a tiny bit envious because I can’t write as well as you will.

    Marketing work out may possibly make for me holes and also scared since i have a
    need to create articles significantly as a result of our modern informative approach .

    It is great for that there exists present the internet such as this one Raul and also this manufacturing feedbacks at
    varied dissertation sending products and services

Leave a Reply

