A Disturbing Dream

Warning: I’m not kidding. This dream shook me very badly. Still trying to decipher a meaning, and the description may be graphically violent. Typing this up while the images are fresh. You may want to wait for a funnier story.

I’m in a barn with my Father (who has been gone from my life for quite some time). He’s teaching me … mechanical things and ‘mancraft’. things like swinging a scythe, hammering a spike with a sledgehammer. There’s a snow-white long haired dog, like a big Samoyed, running in and out of the barn, frolicking. Across the road from the barn are my current next door neighbors, trimming some bushes with long knives and spears.

The dog comes running into the barn with a small head wound, and her blood is deep purple. My Father curses the neighbors and heals the dog’s head. We go back to working and talking about my children.

The dog comes bounding back in with a larger wound in her head – this time with a large pair of pruning shears sticking out. My Father removes the shears, heals the dog and taks the shears back across the street to the neighbors. He asks them to knock it off. We go back to eating lunch and he begins to sharpen an axe, then practices splitting wood.

My dog comes in again, and this time her head is practically cloven through. My Father sighs regretfully and says he can no longer help her, but he can put her out of her misery. He asks me to comfort her and turn her head away so he can use the axe.

I cradle her face in my hands as Dad rares back and … I wake up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blither Blather, Public Diary

Leave a Reply

