Pain

Woke up this morning, did a nice little family show at a local festival.

The moment it was over, as I was packing up my show, I felt a twinge in my side.  Must be hungry.

Got home, ate about half of lunch – then doubled over in searing pain, as though I had been stabbed. (Yep, been there.) Lunch came back up. Violently. Repeatedly.

Assumed it was exhaustion or dehydration or both. Been on the move lately. Tried to sleep. No good. Tried to drink – nothing stays down because I’m hurting so bad.

Back story; my father was killed by pancreatic cancer. His symptoms are almost the same as mine, and the pain is increasing.

Dawn rushes me to hospital in the driving rain. Praying the whole way. Long wait in the waiting room. Long wait in the exam room. CAT scan. Pain killers (finally).

Verdict comes in: kidney stones. This too shall pass.

Never hurt so bad before. Never been  more scared. Never more grateful for pain, once I learned the source.  Through it all, I could hear a comforting voice. Peace. Be Still.

Large amounts of drugs, now. Waiting for my stone to leave.

Ow.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pain

  1. smitty

    man…that’s some scary stuff right there! i’m praying for a speedy recovery for ya brother!

  2. I went through the same thing about a month ago. Painful! Scary! Good drugs helped. Same diagnosis: Kidney stones.

    When I finally passed it I was amazed that something so small could cause so much pain. There must be a sermon in there somewhere.

  3. jasongoodnight

    May the peace of God that surpasses understanding gird up your heart and mind in Christ Jesus. May the time of pain and reflection be a glimpse of the blessing it is to be alive and may your house and kids be a blessing like a time of non other. May the pain be a reminder of the Cross and life of Christ and may your heart be excessivly paining for God as you see how blessed and loved you are by God, your family, and me.

    I apprieciatiate the heck out of you and am praying for you.

    JDG

Leave a Reply

